New Faces at New Gen!!!!

I know it’s been longer than usual since my last post and I am so very sorry BUT I promise I have a good reason. All of us here at New Gen have been really busy training 4 new health educators!!!! Two of the new health educators are the new AmeriCorps members and the other two are San Francisco State University Health Education interns. We are so grateful that these four have joined us. They are proving to be great additions to the New Gen team and like all staff, they are extremely comfortable discussing all things related to sex and relationships so don’t hesitate to ask them questions. So without further adieu, here they are!

AmeriCorps:

AlondraCardenasPhotoHola! My name is Alondra and I am a new Health Educator at New Gen. I have plenty of experience working with teens as a tutor and teacher’s assistant. I am very excited to be working here and helping young men and women make the best reproductive health choices for themselves!
I am originally from Mexico, but grew up in the South Bay. My interests include dancing to a variety of music like cumbia and hip-hop, traveling and going to the beach! I also love to eat delicious, home-cooked Mexican food!

My name is Zoe and I’m a Health Educator at New Gen. I’ve worked at other health centers and clinics doing front desk, Zoeadministration, and translating, but this is the first time I’ve had the opportunity to do education and counseling. I love working with adolescents because they’re still very much in the process of figuring out who they are and becoming comfortable with themselves and in their relationships. It’s a great time to start forming habits and practices that will lead to a healthy and happy life!

I grew up in Pittsburgh, PA, but chose the cornfields of Ohio as the backdrop for my college education. After graduation I spent a brief time in rural Guatemala translating for doctors and physical therapists before making the big move to the Bay Area! So far I’m loving the urban life, spending my free time exploring the city and the natural beauty that surrounds it, enjoying free concerts, finding new spots to eat lunch, doing yoga, and trying to learn how to cook! I’m so excited to work for a health center that values and protects the patient’s right to all kinds of reproductive and sexual health services.

SFSU Health Education Interns:

AriannaHello, my name is Arianna, I am currently in San Francisco State’s Health Education program and I am interning at New Gen for my final semester. Ever since high school, I’ve always had an interest in adolescent reproductive health. Growing up in a Catholic school from K-8th grade, I was never introduced to topics of sex, relationships, or reproductive health. It wasn’t until I started going to school at a public high school, that I began learning about sexual health.
It started with a 15 year old me learning about birth control from a guest speaker in my English class. This lesson made me feel empowered to take control over my own body and protect myself and encourage others to do the same. I was “that one friend” in the group who convinced and encouraged everyone to get on some type of birth control. And I was always the first one to call when someone was nervous to go to the school based health center alone. While working as a Health Educator at New Gen, I hope I can be a valuable resource to youth and empower them to take care of their reproductive and overall health and well being. One of my goals is to make sure that youth leave here with the knowledge and skills to make their own informative decisions on their health and relationships with others.

Hi everyone! My name is Elaine. I’m interning at New Gen and loving it. I’m a super senior at San Francisco State University Elaine2with a genuine passion in health and wellness. I love spending time in nature, whether that be hiking, hula-hooping, practicing yoga, searching for stones, or just hanging out with loved ones. I’m a vegetarian and very much enjoy cooking. I’m happily involved with a partner of three years and loving life with him in it! We have a pact to travel to a new place every year we are together. As for me, my life is an open book- no questions are off limits!

So next time you’re in the clinic and you see these lovely faces, say hello!!!! And if you’re interested in learning more about either programs click here – AmeriCorps & SFSH Health Education – they are both fantastic ways to get involved in the health care field. But I must admit I am a little biased, I am a graduate of the SFSU Health Education program.

In happiness & health,

Shawna

P.S. I promise I will try not to lag so much between postings. To help me out, send me your questions at askshawna@yahoo.com

What do you think?

